Faculty

Arabic and Islamic Studies Faculty

Ghayda Al-Ali

Associate Teaching Professor
Email: ga411@georgetown.edu
Interests: News Discourse Analysis of Arabic print media and its interaction with the western media

 

 

 

Huda al-Mufti

Assistant Teaching Professor
Email: hwa2@georgetown.edu
Faculty Profile

 

 

 

Ahmad alqassas

Alqassas

Assistant Professor
Email: aa1453@georgetown.edu
Interests: Arabic syntax, morphology, acquisition, diglossia/variation
Faculty Profile

 

 

 

Belkacem Baccouche

Assistant Teaching Professor
Email: baccoucb@georgetown.edu
Interests: Arabic Literature & Interpretation
Faculty Profile

 

 

Jonathan Brown

Associate Professor 
Email: brownj2@georgetown.edu
Faculty Profile
 

 

 

Elliott Colla

Associate Professor
Email: Elliott.Colla@georgetown.edu
Interests: The links between social movements and literary production
Faculty Profile

 

 

Emma Gannagé

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
Email: epg23@georgetown.edu
Interests: The transmission and reception of Greek philosophy into Arabic; Arabic and Islamic philosophy; Arabic Medicine and its relationship to Philosophy; Arabic Manuscripts
Faculty Profile
 

 

muhammad habib

Assistant Teaching Professor
Email: Muhammad.Habib@georgetown.edu
 

Hanaa Kilany

Associate Teaching Professor
Email: hk229@georgetown.edu
Faculty Profile

Farima Mostowfi

Associate Teaching Professor (Persian)
Email: fsm7@georgetown.edu
F
aculty Profile

 

 

 

Sylvia Önder

Teaching Professor (Turkish)
Email: onders@georgetown.edu
Faculty Profile

 

 

Felicitas Opwis

Associate Professor, Department Chair
Email: Felicitas.Opwis@georgetown.edu
Interests: The religious sciences of Islam and the historical, social, and political environment in which Islamic thought is articulated.
Faculty Profile
 

 

 

Suzanne Stetkevych

Sultan Qaboos bin Said Professor of Arabic & Islamic Studies
Email: ss3179@georgetown.edu
Interests: The ritual, performance and performative underpinnings of classical Arabic poetry in its literary-historical settings
Faculty Profile
 

ADJUNCT FACULTY
Muhammad Kassab

Email: kassabm@georgetown.edu

TEACHING ASSOCIATES

Pamela Klasova
Abdallah Soufan

emeritus faculty

TERRENCE POTTER

Terrence PotterEmeritus Teaching Professor
Email: Terrence.Potter@georgetown.edu
Interests: Teaching and learning of second languages, applied linguistics and onomastics (personal names)
Faculty Profile

 

 

Karin Ryding

Professor Emeritus
Email: rydingk@georgetown.edu
Faculty Profile

 

VISITING RESEARCHERS

SCHOLAR IN RESIDENCE

Affiliate Faculty, Researcher

Jaroslav Stetkevych

FORMER ADJUNCT

Charles Butterworth
Rebecca Hernandez
Maisa Al Khawaja
Ron Wolfe